Clinical Leadership Forum

The ACT Clinical Leadership Forum will be appointed by the Minister to provide independent and expert advice to the Minister for Health and Wellbeing and the Minister for Mental Health.

Role of the Clinical Leadership Forum

The Clinical Leadership Forum will perform its role for the greater good of the ACT population and the sustainability of the ACT public health system—to contribute to the continuous improvement of a high performing health system that keeps people well and provides the best care. The Forum will be informed and guided by the recommendations of the ACT Health Culture Review and make recommendations to the Ministers where this relates to improving the clinical operations of the ACT’s health system.

The Forum will advise on clinical matters as they relate to a territory wide public health system and will not consider day-to-day matters of service management and operation.

The Clinical Leadership Forum will provide objective advice based on the best available evidence.

Ministers may seek advice from the Forum on any matter within their portfolio responsibility, with due regard to the Terms of Reference of the Forum.

The Forum will meet quarterly and focus on:

  • Territory wide health service delivery
  • Territory wide health service infrastructure planning
  • clinical culture, planning and practice
  • workforce planning
  • education and training
  • health and medical research

The Forum is not a lobbying body and will not focus on professional or personal interests of members or the professions they represent.

Terms of Reference

Clinical Leadership Forum - Terms of Reference


The Forum will comprise:

  • a Chair—independent of ACT Government
  • up to six members comprising representatives from a range of professions, including:
    • Surgery
    • Medicine
    • Nursing and midwifery
    • Allied health
    • Primary care
    • Mental health
    • Preventive health
    • Health research
    • Clinical education
    • Consumer representation.

Secretariat support for the Forum will be provided by the ACT Health Directorate.

The ACT Government recently sought expressions of interest (EOIs) from clinical experts who wish to be part of the ACT’s new Clinical Leadership Forum.

The EOIs closed on 12 April 2019. They are currently being reviewed.

Members will be appointed in mid 2019, for a term of two years. The first meeting of the forum is expected to take place in the second half of 2019.

The Chair and Members of the Clinical Leadership Forum will be remunerated in accordance the ACT Remuneration Tribunal’s Determination 17 of 2018:

  • Chair: $540 per diem
  • Members: $465 per diem

Determination 15 of 2018 (Part-time Public Office Holders) also applies to the Chair and members of the Clinical Leadership Forum. Determinations of the ACT Remuneration Tribunal can be found at


Leonie McGregor

Deputy Director-General, Health Systems Policy and Research


Phone: 02 5124 9656

Page last updated on: 14 May 2019