The Office for Mental Health and Wellbeing


Vision for Mental Health and Wellbeing in the Australian Capital Territory

A kind, connected and informed community working together to promote and protect the mental health and wellbeing of all.

This tree represents strength through collaboration.  A community that builds on input from a diverse range of people, is grounded and grows together. Together, we’ll improve the mental health and wellbeing of all Canberrans.

Our Mission

To improve our community’s wellbeing and enhance our mental health service system through co-design with consumers, carers, clinicians and the community.

To support the vision and fulfil our mission the Office for Mental Health and Wellbeing will work within the following themes and areas of action as set out in our work plan:

Underpinned by research, evaluation and quality improvement, the Office for Mental Health and Wellbeing will:

  • focus on coordinating services along the entire continuum of mental health and will work to ensure that people experiencing poor mental health can access the most appropriate services and supports at the right place and at the right time;
  • provide strategic oversight of the delivery of mental health services across the ACT, including how they intersect with other government directorates; and
  • improve access to mental health services by managing the coordination, integration and targeting of services and facilities through a mental health and wellbeing framework.

About Us

Dr Elizabeth Moore, Coordinator-General

Welcome to the Office for Mental Health and Wellbeing website! 

On it, you will find our workplan produced through codesign, and links to some of the exciting things that are happening in the ACT already and some of the projects underway.

Improving our mental health and wellbeing is both an individual and community issue.  Taking a whole of government and community strategy allows a comprehensive approach to achieving the vision for the ACT which was so clearly articulated in the workshops.  

I hope that you find the resources interesting and informative.  The website will be evolving over time and any feedback and new ideas for the website will be welcome. 


Dr Moore is supported by a highly skilled and dedicated team made up of the following people:

  • Paul Mayers, Mental Health Business Advisor
  • Natalie Johnson, Change Leader
  • Lee-Anne Rogers, Change Leader 
  • Gabrielle Mulcahy, Director, Suicide Prevention
  • Neville Perkins, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Suicide Prevention Officer
  • Ciaran Bird, Suicide Prevention Officer
  • Amy Clark, Project Officer 
  • Pauline Gallacher, Communications and Coordination Officer
  • Fleur Beveridge, Executive Assistant to Coordinator-General
  • Lou Catlin, Administrative Support Officer

To contact the Office please use the following email address: