Allied Health Excellence Awards

2017 Allied Health Excellence Awards

The 2017 ACT Health Allied Health Excellence Awards were celebrated on Wednesday 5th April 2017 at the National Gallery of Australia.

The Chief Allied Health Office congratulates all award nominees and recipients - please see below for details.

Award Categories

  • Award for Allied Health Assistant Excellence
    Recipient: Shareen Underwood, Speech Pathology Assistant (RACC)
    Nominees: Veronique Clyde (Medicine), Therese Edwards (RACC)
  • Award for Allied Health Clinical Excellence
    Recipient: Dr Donald McLean,
    Medical Physicist and Head of Radiology Physics (CSS)
    Nominees: Elissa Jacobs, Clinical Psychologist (Medicine); Thomas Roberts, Occupational Therapist (MHJHADS); Helen Tayler, Social Worker (CACHS); Lin Wegener, Occupational Therapist (Medicine)
  • Award for Allied Health Early Career Excellence
    Recipient: Amy Coleman, Occupational Therapist, Acute Support (Medicine)
    Nominees: Nil other
  • Award for Allied Health Education Excellence
    Recipient: Nicola Wardrop, Speech Pathology Clinical Educator, Allied Health Clinical Education Unit (ODDG)
    Nominees: Angela Borbelj, Clinical Neurophysiology Scientist (Medicine); Sarah Briggs, Occupational Therapist (Medicine); Christine Brown, Cardiac Sonographer (Medicine); Amaly Khalaf, Clinical Psychologist (MHJHDS).
  • Award for Allied Health Management and Leadership Excellence
    Recipient: Dr Sarah Miller, Director of Allied Health, Disicpline Lead-Psychology (MHJHADS) and ACT Health Profession Lead-Psychology.
    Nominees: Victoria Bowrah, Occupational Therapist and Team Leader (Clinical)-MHJHADS; Mary Brun, Chief Scientist, Calvary Laboratory (ACT Pathology); Margot Green, Senior Physiotherapist (Medicine) and ACT Health Profession Lead-Physiotherapy; Narelle Luff, Dietitian (Medicine); Felicity Martin, Manager-Acute Support Speech Pathology (Medicine) and ACT Health Profession Lead-Speech Pathology.
  • Award for Allied Health Research Excellence
    Recipient: Joanne Morris, Extended Scope Physiotherapist, Acute Support (Medicine)
    Nominees: Dr Mark Franks, Clinical Psychologist (MHJHADS)
  • Award for Allied Health Team Excellence
    Recipient: Exercise Physiology Team (Medicine)
    Nominees: Acute Support Physiotherapy Outpatients Team (Medicine); Acute Support Social Work Maternity and Paediatric Team (Medicine); Acute Support Social Work NDIS Team (Medicine); Cancer Psychosocial Service (CACHS); Cardiac Science and Cardiac Sonography Team (Medicine); Cognitive Remediation Project team (Medicine, MHJHADS and RACC); Elizabeth Giuffre, physiotherapist, and Lin Wegener , occupational therapist, -members of the Outpatients Hand Therapy team; Rehabilitation at Home Team (RACC).
  • 2017 Allied Health Professional of the Year
    Recipient: Joanne Morris
    , Extended Scope Physiotherapist, Acute Support (Medicine)

How to nominate someone in 2018

Nominations can be made by anyone, including self nominations, however nominations must be signed off by the relevant Director of Allied Health prior to being submitted to the Chief Allied Health Office. All nominations are to be forwarded to the Chief Allied Health Office on or prior to the advertised closing date. A selection panel comprising senior allied health representatives will assess all applications. Nominations are now open and close on Wednesday February 28th 2018 . Please review the current documentation - see links below - to help prepare your nomination for the 2018 round.


Nominations can made on behalf of any eligible allied health professional either permanently employed by ACT Health or Calvary Public Hospital Bruce, or an eligible allied health professional from ACT Health or Calvary Public Hospital Bruce who can provide evidence of having been continuously employed on a temporary contract for at least 12 months as at the Scheme closing date.

Award Recognition

Nominees and award recipients are acknowledged at a formal presentation event which precedes the annual ACT Health Allied Health Symposium. All nominees receive a framed certificate and individual category recipients also receive a $500 Professional Development Grant.

Individual category recipients are eligible to be considered for the overall award of Allied Health Professional of the Year for which an additional framed certificate and a Professional Development Grant of $1500 are awarded.

Contact Officer

Leanne Pagett

Phone: 62072081