ACT Health undertook an organisation-wide accreditation assessment in May 2015 and is now fully accredited against the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHSS) with the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS). The ACHS is an independent, not-for-profit organisation dedicated to improving quality in health care. 

This result is one of which the Canberra community can be proud and is a tribute to the hard work and dedication of staff within ACT Health.

ACT Health Final Accreditation Report

Accred Certificate.JPG

What is Accreditation?

Accreditation is an external review process, a way of making sure that an organisation meets a pre-determined set of criteria or standards. In a healthcare setting, it is about making sure that services delivered are derived from evidence-based practice, are high quality and as safe as possible.

Accreditation helps to build trust with our community; it gives ACT Health the confidence to say that the services we provide meet current accepted standards (or in some cases exceed accepted standards) and allows us the opportunity to recognise areas of improvement.

Accreditation against the NSQHSS

In September 2011, the Australian Health Ministers endorsed the introduction of an Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation Scheme supported by the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards. These Standards were developed by the Australian Commission of Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC) to protect the public from harm and to improve the quality of health care in Australia. The 10 NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health service organisations.

ACT Health undertook its first accreditation against the 10 NSQHS Standards in May 2015 and successfully met all the requirements of these Standards.

According to the ACHS Public Statement, which is available on their website “Surveyors were consistently impressed with the way staff of ACT Health have embraced the intent of the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards and were able to demonstrate their applicability within their own work areas.   A strong consumer presence and active influence is obvious throughout all aspects of the service's governance structure. This is a learning organisation in which staff are receptive to new knowledge and willing to change clinical behaviors to ensure the delivery of best practice and contemporaneous patient care standards."

What are the 10 National Standards?

10 NS Details.JPG

Useful Links

Contact Us

National Standards Team: 02 6174 7938